Transgender inmate’s healthcare trial to go forward

Information derived from The SiriusXM OutQ News Blog

A transgender federal inmate currently being held in Massachusetts won a major victory in court last week – in her fight to receive treatment for Gender Identity Disorder. Vanessa Adams was diagnosed with GID after she became incarcerated. But under what’s known as the “freeze frame” policy at the Federal Bureau of Prisons, because she did not ENTER the prison system with the diagnosis, she was not entitled to treatment for it.

Jennifer Levi heads the Transgender Rights project at “Gay and Lesbian Advocates and Defenders” in Massachusetts, which represents Adams.

Levi: “She has brought an 8th amendment claim, which essentially says that she is facing cruel and unusual punishment through the deprivation of medical care to her. And there is well-established constitutional law which says prisoners are entitled to adequate medical care.

Levi says the “freeze frame” rule is unconstitutional – and ONLY applies to cases of Gender Identity Disorder, not ANY other healthcare needs.

She says Adams has taken some extreme measures as a result of being denied care.

Levi: “She tried to kill herself, she self-mutilated, she cut her testicles, and she actually eventually completely severed her penis. Incident after incident, she was denied care. In fact, on some occasions she was disciplined.”

Last week a U.S. district court judge in Massachusetts denied the government’s motion to dismiss, allowing Adams’ case to move forward. Levi says since the lawsuit, prison officials HAVE been giving proper healthcare to Adams, but without any official change in policy, and without any guarantees that they will continue to do so.

The Federal Bureau of Prisons said it had “no comment” about the case, which will likely now proceed to trial.

http://outqnews.com/2010/06/14/transgender-inmates-healthcare-trial-to-go-forward/

This entry was posted in Transsexual and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Transgender inmate’s healthcare trial to go forward

  1. However there is a growing area of people who want to learn about this trade
    on their particular. If your trading strategy covers all of these products you should ensure that you go with a provider
    that doesn. But, in the event of Israel it is going to be good to own 6-9% dividend yield
    I think.

  2. Awesome points! I am glad I found someone writing about this!

  3. Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  4. Great work! I wish I could write this well!

  5. Katlyn Tokay says:

    Awesome post! I will keep an on eye on your blog.

  6. WWW says:

    Thanks for another informative site. Where else could I get that kind of info written in such an ideal way? I’ve a project that I am just now working on, and I’ve been on the look out for such info.

  7. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i am happy to convey that I’ve an incredibly good uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to do not forget this site and give it a glance regularly.

Leave a comment